You've imported a script and tagged elements, but now you've received a revised script with new scenes added, or with characters removed. So how do you add additional script pages to an existing breakdown?

Sync Screenplay makes it easy to work with different drafts so you don't need to start from scratch every time and avoid re-work all over again.

For example, if your Assistant Director is marking the props for version 1 of your script, but then you import a new version, you can avoid losing all the tagged elements that's been done already. Say goodbye to re-doing the work by re-importing your script and pick up right where you left off.

 

Sync Screenplay

  1. From the Stripboard, click Import Script
  2. Select Sync Screenplay Changes , then select a file to import
  3. Click Update Script

Why aren't your scenes syncing?

When you import your revised script and it replaces all the old scenes with the new one instead of syncing, this could be due to the Scene Numbers not matching. 

Can I go back to a previous version of my screenplay?

You can always swap back to a previous draft using version history.

Can I manually edit a screenplay?

Yes, from the Stripboard, click on the scene you want to edit. This opens the Edit Scene Strip window. You can make changes to the script, and the scene heading.

If I re-import a script, will my shots be attached to the wrong scenes?

When you import a new screenplay with screenplay sync, it will simply add the newly modified scenes to your Shot List, and it will not move shots around to other scenes. 

Is it possible to 'turn off' Screenplay Sync?

You sure can! When you import your script, just toggle to 'Don't Maintain Changes' which will treat the import as a fresh script. Keep in mind that this will completely remove stripboard ordering, along with elements that have been tagged in this Version.
 

Best practices when using Sync Screenplay

Sync Screenplay Window

Review the Sync Screenplay Window to verify changes that will take effect when importing a new draft.

  1. Removed scenes will show up in red.
  2. Modified scenes will be highlighted in blue.
  3. You can click on a scene to open it up and see the changes.

Importing

  1. To avoid formatting errors, make sure you review our Best practices before importing a screenplay article.
  2. You can always share a link with Contributors if you need them to view or verify any changes made. 

Note: A Sync Screenplay window will appear displaying what scenes were removed or modified once a new draft is uploaded.
 

Watch the video tour of Screenplay Sync

What's Next?

Great, now that you've learned about syncing your screenplay, it's time to:

Did this answer your question?