Scene numbers are essential when you sync your script throughout your project. To avoid affecting any of the existing work that you've done, you can lock your scene numbers.

What's a Locked script?

Locking a script will preserve current scene numbers in your script. If you add a new scene to a locked script, a letter will automatically append to the preceding scene number. This is to preserve any work done to the Shooting Schedule, Shot Lists, and so on.

Note: You can still edit a locked script and re-sync at any time. When you re-sync, any new scenes will update across your project.

What's an Unlocked script?

Unlocked scripts will not preserve current scene numbers. Adding a new scene to an unlocked script will replace the current scene numbers. For example, if you added a new scene after scene 1, it would now be scene 2.

What's Next?

Great, now that you know the difference between locked and unlocked scripts, it's time to:

Did this answer your question?