You've written your script and now you're ready to start breaking it down and scheduling your shoot. So how do you generate a shooting schedule or shooting script?

Sync Screenplay

From the Screenwriting page, click Sync to Project

Confirm the changes on the Sync Screenplay page, click Update Script

Why didn't all of my scenes sync?

This could happen if you are currently subscribed to the Free plan. Free plans will only allow you to sync 50% of your script.

Best practices when using Sync Screenplay

Sync Screenplay Window

Review the Sync Screenplay Window to verify changes that will take effect when importing a new draft.

  1. Removed scenes will show up in red.
  2. Modified scenes will be highlighted in blue.
  3. You can click on a scene to open it up and see the changes.

Note: A Sync Screenplay window will appear displaying what scenes were removed or modified once a new draft is uploaded.

Watch the video tour of Screenplay Sync

Is there a way to update the script without losing existing breakdowns?

That's correct! If you use Sync Screenplay, it will preserve the tagged elements on your account.

When syncing a new version of the script, I've lost all tagged elements apart from cast members.

This is most likely because the scene numbers in your script have changed. Follow the instructions above (plus the video) and make sure that the scene numbers are the same!

What's Next?

Great, now that you've learned about syncing your screenplay, it's time to:

Did this answer your question?